The Owl & The Pussycat Went To Sea In A Beautiful Pea Green Boat, …

The Owl and the Pussy-Cat

BY EDWARD LEAR

Owl & Pussy-cat

THE-OWL-AND-THE-PUSSY-CAT
I
The Owl and the Pussy-cat went to sea
   In a beautiful pea-green boat,
They took some honey, and plenty of money,
   Wrapped up in a five-pound note.
The Owl looked up to the stars above,
   And sang to a small guitar,
“O lovely Pussy! O Pussy, my love,
    What a beautiful Pussy you are,
         You are,
         You are!
What a beautiful Pussy you are!”
II
Pussy said to the Owl, “You elegant fowl!
   How charmingly sweet you sing!
O let us be married! too long we have tarried:
   But what shall we do for a ring?”
They sailed away, for a year and a day,
   To the land where the Bong-Tree grows
And there in a wood a Piggy-wig stood
   With a ring at the end of his nose,
             His nose,
             His nose,
   With a ring at the end of his nose.
III
“Dear Pig, are you willing to sell for one shilling
   Your ring?” Said the Piggy, “I will.”
So they took it away, and were married next day
   By the Turkey who lives on the hill.
They dined on mince, and slices of quince,
   Which they ate with a runcible spoon;
And hand in hand, on the edge of the sand,
   They danced by the light of the moon,
             The moon,
             The moon,
They danced by the light of the moon.

Many of us remember this poem from this poem by Edward Lear (1812–1888) of an owl who serenades a cat. They fall madly in love & set sail on a great adventure in their pea-green boat for one year & one day.  Its a fun little story filled with romance & adventure. This little owl & pussy-cat (pictured above) have been handmade using a mix of wool blend felt; most of which has been reinforced with interfacing; & 100% (quilters) cotton in coordinating colours. The boat has been decorated on one side with a hand embroidered floral vine & the details; facial features, arms & feet, flowers, bowtie & pussy’s tail; have been hand stitched on using matching embroidery thread. Owl’s guitar has also been reinforced & the strings are hand stitched with embroidery thread.

Also new in my Etsy shop …

Tiffany the Tortoise

Tiffany-tortoise-5

Miss Molly Mouse 

DARCY_THE_DINOSAUR_5

Alien Lineup, 175mm (7″) Hoop Art

ALIEN-LINEUP-3

What’s happening with my Madeit shop?

If you have been to my Madeit shop lately you will have noticed I have put it in holiday mode.  For the moment I have decided to concentrate my efforts on Etsy & so I have moved all my listing there.  I may re-open the Madeit shop later on next year, I will post a notice here & on my facebook if & when this happens.

Some of the listing that were moved over were …

Bronnie the Happy Dinosaur (brown)

BRONNIE_THE_DINOSAUR_4

Cuddly Purple Monster

Cuddly Purple Monster 16cm tall & 15cm wide $20 + shipping

Jumping Lamb, 10mm (4 “) Hoop art

Spring Lamb 100mm Hand Embroidered Hoop Art $30 + shipping

Bella Ballerina

Ballerina_doll_purple_1

Chloe the Helicopter

HELECOPTER_PINK_&_BLACK_1

Facebook update …

I have finally worked out how to simplify the URL for my facebook page, (no more numbers at the end … yay!)  the new URL is simply  www.facebook.com/NittensandPatches

Well I think that is all for this week, it’s almost time to make pizza,  so until next next time  …

king-of-the-castle

About Mignon

Hi & welcome to my blog - Nittens & Patches. My name is Mignon & I live on the Fleurieu Peninsula in South Australia. I am married with a son Tim & a fur-kid Georgie - aka Feathers, our Devon Rex cat. I have been knitting, sewing & generally crafting for as long as I can remember .In 2012 I started knitting & sewing toys & gifts which I am really enjoying. My latest creations can be bought on my www.madeit.com.au/NittensandPatches shop. Nittens & Patches can also be found on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nittens-and-Patches & Pinterest - http://pinterest.com/nittenspatches/ The name for my store came in two parts. First I started knitting toys. Tim came up with the name 'Nittens' which I really loved. It's a play on the words - knitting & kitten. After a little while I found some sewing pattern that I really loved, so I added them to my collection & the name Patches was added. In our home we love cats & dogs equally. They are part of the family - our 'fur-kids'. We don't currently have a dog because we are renting, but when we get back into our own home there will definitely be getting a puppy - or 2 ;). I hope you enjoy my sites. Mignon :) Copyright All contents of my ‘MadeIt’ shop including images, listing descriptions, graphics and information, are the property of ‘Nittens & Patches {Mignon Prider} and may not be used, borrowed or taken without my prior written consent. My images may not be used in any logos or graphics for the purpose of promoting another business. You may pin the images to ‘PINTEREST’ or other similar social media but please link the image back to www.madeit.com.au/NittensandPatches
Gallery | This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Owl & The Pussycat Went To Sea In A Beautiful Pea Green Boat, …

  1. Allison Dey says:

    I used to sing this poem as a song to my kids when they were little! I’m so glad you posted the whole thing. And your little dolls to match are adorable! It’s nice to get a good look at your creations. Thanks for showing them here.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS & IDEAS :)

